Uncategorized

A Moment in Time

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

This is a picture of me and my beautiful niece, taken in 2008. Yes, 10 years ago and I can hardly believe that time went by so quickly. I remember this moment that the picture was taken as if it was yesterday. So clearly I remember how we laughed and made jokes on a very cold morning in a small town we visited over the weekend. This was just before we all had to go our separate ways again, after a big family wedding.

Our lives consist of MOMENTS. This picture was taken with a normal camera, not a cellphone like we do these days. We take selfies and capture every simple thing around us and at some point when you go through your pictures, you can hardly remember why you took the picture. No, this was a moment that was captured on a film. A moment that mattered and a moment that brings back good feelings and memories. As I was going through all my ‘old’ photos and remembering the good times and moments, there were also some pictures, which looks good, but I can remember that there were strife and mean words behind the memory. During this time of my reminiscing I received the sad news of a grade 7 boy who committed suicide. Grade 7, he must be about 12 years old…

My heart broke in pieces, although I do not know this boy. Apparently he felt that he was never good enough. The school wanted him on medicine, because he did not concentrate etc. How bad exactly must a 12 year old boy feel to hang himself in his room? This question took me back to my thoughts of MOMENTS. I was wondering how many good and how many bad moments did this boy had in his short 12 years on earth. Moments trigger our memory in the future. So today’s MOMENT will be tomorrows memory!!

I cried before God, asking what is going on in this world that it all seem so dark and hopeless. He answer me in a soft but firm voice, ‘You MUST learn to love’. I always thought I loved my neighbor as myself, but am I just fooling myself, cause I sure can’t fool God. He reminded me that this is not a request, it is a commandment.

Matthew 22:37 – 39 – “Love your neighbor as yourself.”

Jesus help us all!! While thinking of this 12 year old boy, I was crying because what if someone just gave him some more time, and love and patience. What if someone just took the time to make him feel that he is good enough? We MUST love!! We are suppose to represent Jesus, so what if we can just stop and talk to someone that looks a bit sad, or smile at the girl in the grocery store, who’s been standing on her feet all day. What if we can be the one responsible for a HAPPY MOMENT? What if we can be the ones that stops a person from taking his own life, cause we cared and out of that, created a GOOD MOMENT for someone? I read a saying that goes like this; ‘People will forget what you did for them but they will always remember how you made them feel.’
Just take a MOMENT, and pay attention to what is around you. Look people in the eye and ask God to show them to you like He sees them. You might be surprised by the beauty you find within. It only takes a MOMENT!!

Leave a comment